Tuesday, October 13, 2009

2009 Garfield Economic Impact Award

Tuesday, October 13
12-1:30 pm
U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Washington, DC

Part 1
The Honorable John Edward Porter
Board Chair, Research!America

Eugene Garfield, PhD
Award benefactor, Research!America Board Member

Part 2

James Madara, MD
Former CEO, University of Chicago Medical Center, Award Benefactor

Part 3
Darius Lakdawalla, PhD
Lead author of the award-winning publication, "U.S. Pharmaceutical Policy in a Global Marketplace"

Mark McClellan, MD, PhD
Research!America Board Member, Garfield Award Selection Committee Chair

Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9
Part 10
Part 11
Panel discussion and Q&A moderated by:
David Leonhardt
New York Times "Economic Scene" columnist and The Times Magazine staff writer

Part 12
Mary Woolley
President, Research!America

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

2009 National Forum: Science in the Service of the Nation

Tuesday, March 24, 2009
12 p.m. - 3 p.m.
National Press Club
Washington, DC

Part 1:
Opening remarks by Research!America president & CEO Mary Woolley
Keynote address by Research!America board chairman, The Honorable John Edward Porter

Part 2:
Introduction of moderator Clive Crook, senior editor, The Atlantic by Mary Woolley
Panel 1: Science in the Service of America's Global Image
  • Richard Besser, MD, acting director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Nancy Glass, PhD, MPH, RN, associate professor, The Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing
  • Patricia Murphy, director, Office of International Health and Biodefense, Bureau of Oceans, Environment and Science, U.S. State Department
  • Chris Viehbacher, CEO, sanofi-aventis
Part 3:
Panel 2: Science in the Service of the Economy and America's Health
  • Carolyn Clancy, MD, director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
  • Raynard Kington, MD, PhD, acting director, National Institutes of Health
  • Debra Lappin, JD, senior vice president, B&D Consulting, LLC
  • Bill Peck, MD, director, Center for Health Policy, Washington University School of Medicine
Closing remarks by Mary Woolley